Now Reading
2018 World Cup Qualifying How It Works

2018 World Cup Qualifying How It Works

Here I will tell you about 2018 World Cup qualifying how it works.The qualifying procedure for 2018 World Cup started on March 12, 2015, with introduction ties among the 12 lowest-ranked states in Asia.

Read About: The Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)-Part 1

Chiquito Do Carmo of Timor-Leste had the tribute of scoring the primary goal on the road to Russia in a 4-1 victory at the house to Mongolia.

There are 31 places up for grabs, joining hosts Russia. The draw for the main sections of qualifying takes place on Saturday, July 25, 2015.

Read About: The Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)-Part 2


13 places

• European qualifying home page

Qualifying for 2018 sees seven groups of six nations and two groups of five.

Russia succeeded as hosts. Group winners succeed automatically, with the eight top runners-up facing a two-legged playoff. The record of the team finishing in sixth place in groups 1-7 is discounted to find out first runners-up.

Gibraltar, though playing in European Championship qualifying, was not qualified as they have not been accepted as full members by FIFA.

Read About: The Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)-Part 3

The qualifiers start in September 2016 and run through to November 2017. Click on the group to see the fixtures.

  1. GROUP A: Netherlands, France, Sweden, Bulgaria, Belarus, Luxembourg
  2. GROUP B: Portugal, Switzerland, Hungary, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Andorra
  3. GROUP C: Germany, Czech Republic, Northern Ireland, Norway, Azerbaijan, San Marino
  4. GROUP D: Wales, Austria, Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Moldova, Georgia
  5. GROUP E: Romania, Denmark, Poland, Montenegro, Armenia, Kazakhstan
  6. GROUP F: England, Slovakia, Scotland, Slovenia, Lithuania, Malta
  7. GROUP G: Spain, Italy, Albania, Israel, Macedonia, Liechtenstein
  8. GROUP H: Belgium, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Greece, Estonia, Cyprus
  9. GROUP I: Croatia, Iceland, Ukraine, Turkey, Finland

Read about: The Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)-Part 4


4.5 places

• South American qualifying home page

As in current qualifying competition, all teams play each other house and away. The top four nations will succeed openly to the finals. The fifth-placed team will take the 0.5 place and play an intercontinental playoff against the champion of the Oceania area.

The qualifiers will begin in October 2015 and run through to October 2017.

Read About: Russia 2018 Host Cities celebrate 1000 days to go


3.5 places

• Concacaf qualifying home page

A rather adapted, but still complicated, system for 2018. The only seeds, including U.S. and Mexico, enter in Round Four.

Round One:

The 14 poor ranked nations are playing two-legged ties, to be played in June 2015.


Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Curacao, Dominica, Nicaragua, St Kitts &Nevis

Round Two:

The seven winners from the primary round and the next 13 lowly ranked states to make 20 teams playing two-legged ties.


Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba (Barbados fielded ineligible player), Belize, Canada, Curacao, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Nicaragua, St Vincent & the Grenadines.

Read About: 1000 days to Russia 2018 Footballers and Fans Celebrate in Red Square

Round Three:

The ten winners from the second round join Jamaica and Haiti — to make 12 teams playing two-legged ties.

Winners advance.

  • Curacao v El Salvador
  • Canada v Belize
  • Grenada v Haiti
  • Jamaica v Nicaragua
  • St Vincent & the Grenadines v Aruba
  • Antigua & Barbuda v Guatemala

Round Four:

The six winners from the third round join Costa Rica, Mexico, USA, Honduras, Panama and Trinidad & Tobago. Drawn into three groups of four nations playing house and away. Top two nations advance.

 Round Five:

The six winners from the fourth round from one group of six teams. Top three teams qualify the fourth placed team in an intercontinental playoff (0.5 places) against a team from Asia.


5 places

  • African qualifying home page

somewhat dissimilar to 2014.

Round One:

The 26 lowest ranked nations are playing two-legged ties, to be played in October 2015. The draw is July 25. Winners advance.

  • Somalia v Niger
  • South Sudan v Mauritania
  • Gambia v Namibia
  • Sao Tome e Principe v Ethiopia
  • Chad v Sierra Leone
  • Comoros v Lesotho
  • Djibouti v Swaziland
  • Eritrea v Botswana
  • Seychelles v Burundi
  • Liberia v Guinea-Bissau
  • Central African Republic v Madagascar
  • Mauritius v Kenya
  • Tanzania v Malawi

Round Two:

The 13 winners from the first round and other 27 African nations to make 40 teams playing two-legged ties.

Winners advance.

See Also
Serena Williams

  • Somalia/Niger v CameroonSouth Sudan/Mauritania v Tunisia
  • South Sudan/Mauritania v TunisiaGambia/Namibia v Guinea
  • Gambia/Namibia v GuineaSao Tome e Principe/Ethiopia v Congo
  • Sao Tome e Principe/Ethiopia v CongoChad/Sierra Leone v Egypt
  • Chad/Sierra Leone v EgyptComoros/Lesotho v Ghana
  • Comoros/Lesotho v GhanaDjibouti/Swaziland v Nigeria
  • Djibouti/Swaziland v NigeriaEritrea/Botswana v Mali
  • Eritrea/Botswana v MaliSeychelles/Burundi v Congo DR
  • Seychelles/Burundi v Congo DRLiberia/Guinea-Bissau v Ivory Coast
  • Liberia/Guinea-Bissau v Ivory CoastCentral African Republic/Madagascar v Senegal
  • Central African Republic/Madagascar v SenegalMauritius/Kenya v Cape Verde
  • Mauritius/Kenya v Cape VerdeTanzania/Malawi v Algeria
  • Tanzania/Malawi v Algeria
  • Sudan v Zambia
  • Libya v Rwanda
  • Morocco v Equatorial Guinea
  • Mozambique v Gabon
  • Benin v Burkina Faso
  • Togo v Uganda
  • Angola v South Africa

Round Three:

The 20 winners from the second round will be drawn into five groups of four nations playing home and away. Group winners qualify.


4.5 places

• Asia qualifying home page

This follows the same format as for 2014.

Round One:

The 12 lowest ranked nations playing two-legged ties, played in

March 2015.


Bhutan, Cambodia, Chinese Taipei, India, Timor-Leste, Yemen.

Round Two:

The six winners from the first round join the other 34 Asian nations, drawn into eight groups of five teams — also played as qualifiers for the 2019 Asian Cup finals. Played June 2015 to March 2016. Eight group winners and four most excellent runners-up advance.

Round Three:

Left over 12 nations are drawn into two groups of six teams. Played September 2016 to September 2017. Group winners and runners-up succeed for the World Cup.

Round Four:

The teams concluding third in round three will play a two-legged playoff. The winner (0.5 place) will then advance to the international playoff against a team from Concacaf for a place at the World Cup.


0.5 places

• Oceania qualifying home page

The 2015 OFC Nations Cup doubles as World Cup qualifying.

Round One:

American Samoa, Cook Islands, Samoa, and Tonga play a league tournament in August-September 2015. The winner of the tournament advances to Round Two.
Round Two:

The champion of round one connected the other seven OFC nations in the group stage. There are two groups of four teams, with the top three going through. Played October 2015 to June 2016.

 Round Three:

Two groups of three teams playing on a house and away basis. Dates to be confirmed. Group winners playoff to advance to an international playoff (0.5 places) against the fifth-placed team from Conmebol.

I hope you must have enjoyed reading it. Share it with your friends and family members. Remember to leave your feedback in the comment box below.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top